Compare / head-to-head
Claude Opus 4.1vsGPT-4.1 mini
Claude Opus 4.1 leads 3 of 3 shared benchmarks. GPT-4.1 mini is 45x cheaper per token. GPT-4.1 mini has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
3 – 0
Claude Opus 4.1 leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-4.1 mini
45x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-4.1 mini
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · 94.2446%
Anthropic · OpenAI
Claude Opus 4.1
Anthropic · released 2025-08-05
textvision
GPT-4.1 mini
OpenAI · released 2025-04-14
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
3 shared · 3 only Claude Opus 4.1 · 3 only GPT-4.1 mini| Benchmark | Claude Opus 4.1 | GPT-4.1 mini | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 3 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 77.3% ↗epoch | 65% ↗ | +12.3 pt | Claude Opus 4.1 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 12.6% ↗epoch | 6.7% ↗epoch | +5.9 pt | Claude Opus 4.1 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 68.9% ↗epoch | 44.7% ↗epoch | +24.2 pt | Claude Opus 4.1 |
| Only Claude Opus 4.1 reports · 3 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 74.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 2.4% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 73.3% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-4.1 mini reports · 3 | ||||
| MMLU | not reported | 87.5% ↗ | — | — |
| AIME 2024 | not reported | 49.6% ↗ | — | — |
| SimpleQA Verified | not reported | 12.7% ↗epoch | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Claude Opus 4.1 minus GPT-4.1 mini in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Claude Opus 4.1 | GPT-4.1 mini | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 200K tokens | 1.0M tokens | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Max output | 32K tokens | 33K tokens | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Input price / 1M | $15 ↗ | $0.4 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Output price / 1M | $75 ↗ | $1.6 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Cached input / 1M | $1.5 ↗ | $0.1 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $90 | $2 | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2025-08-05 | 2025-04-14 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 6 | 7 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Claude Opus 4.1 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-4.1 mini vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Claude Opus 4.1 and GPT-4.1 mini on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.