Compare / head-to-head
Claude Opus 4.6vsGPT-4o mini
Claude Opus 4.6 leads 4 of 4 shared benchmarks. GPT-4o mini is 40x cheaper per token. Claude Opus 4.6 has the larger context window (1M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
4 – 0
Claude Opus 4.6 leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-4o mini
40x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Claude Opus 4.6
1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · 94.2446%
Anthropic · OpenAI
Claude Opus 4.6
Anthropic · released 2026-02-05
textvision
GPT-4o mini
OpenAI · released 2024-07-18
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
4 shared · 14 only Claude Opus 4.6 · 2 only GPT-4o mini| Benchmark | Claude Opus 4.6 | GPT-4o mini | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 4 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 91.3% ↗ | 40.2% ↗ | +51.1 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 66% ↗epoch | 0.7% ↗epoch | +65.3 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 94.4% ↗epoch | 6.9% ↗epoch | +87.5 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| SimpleQA Verified | 47% ↗epoch | 8.3% ↗epoch | +38.7 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| Only Claude Opus 4.6 reports · 14 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 80.8% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2026 | 96.7% ↗matharena | not reported | — | — |
| LMArena Elo | 1497.5 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-2 (Verified) | 68.8% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 26.8% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| MCP Atlas | 59.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMLU | 91.1% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (no tools) | 73.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (with tools) | 77.3% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| OSWorld-Verified | 72.7% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 78.7% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| Tau2-bench Retail | 91.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Tau2-bench Telecom | 99.3% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench 2.0 | 65.4% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-4o mini reports · 2 | ||||
| MMLU | not reported | 82% ↗ | — | — |
| AIME 2024 | not reported | 8.6% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Claude Opus 4.6 minus GPT-4o mini in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Claude Opus 4.6 | GPT-4o mini | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1M tokens | 128K tokens | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| Max output | 128K tokens | 16K tokens | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| Input price / 1M | $5 ↗ | $0.15 ↗ | GPT-4o mini |
| Output price / 1M | $25 ↗ | $0.6 ↗ | GPT-4o mini |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.5 ↗ | $0.075 ↗ | GPT-4o mini |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $30 | $0.75 | GPT-4o mini |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2026-02-05 | 2024-07-18 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 19 | 7 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Claude Opus 4.6 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-4o mini vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Claude Opus 4.6 and GPT-4o mini on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.