ModelsCompareBest forBenchmarksStatusPricingAPI
Compare / head-to-head

Claude Opus 4.8vsGPT-4.1 mini

Claude Opus 4.8 leads 4 of 4 shared benchmarks. GPT-4.1 mini is 15x cheaper per token. GPT-4.1 mini has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
4 – 0
Claude Opus 4.8 leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-4.1 mini
15x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-4.1 mini
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · 95.5307%
Anthropic · OpenAI
Claude Opus 4.8
Anthropic · released 2026-05-28
textvision
Context
1M
Max out
128K
Input /1M
$5
Output /1M
$25
Cached /1M
$0.5
Scores
17 · 13 core
GPT-4.1 mini
OpenAI · released 2025-04-14
textvision
Context
1.0M
Max out
33K
Input /1M
$0.4
Output /1M
$1.6
Cached /1M
$0.1
Scores
7 · 6 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkClaude Opus 4.8GPT-4.1 miniΔEdge
Reported by both · 4
GPQA Diamond93.6% 65% +28.6 ptClaude Opus 4.8
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)80% epoch6.7% epoch+73.3 ptClaude Opus 4.8
OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run)98.3% epoch44.7% epoch+53.6 ptClaude Opus 4.8
SimpleQA Verified53% epoch12.7% epoch+40.3 ptClaude Opus 4.8
Only Claude Opus 4.8 reports · 12
SWE-bench Verified88.6% not reported
AIME 2026100% matharenanot reported
Humanity's Last Exam (no tools)49.8% not reported
LMArena Elo1452.7 not reported
BrowseComp84.3% not reported
FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run)56.1% epochnot reported
Humanity's Last Exam (with tools)57.9% not reported
OSWorld-Verified83.4% not reported
SWE-bench Multilingual84.4% not reported
SWE-bench Multimodal38.4% not reported
SWE-Bench Pro69.2% not reported
Terminal-Bench 2.174.6% not reported
Only GPT-4.1 mini reports · 2
MMLUnot reported87.5%
AIME 2024not reported49.6%
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Claude Opus 4.8 minus GPT-4.1 mini in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecClaude Opus 4.8GPT-4.1 miniEdge
Context window1M tokens1.0M tokensGPT-4.1 mini
Max output128K tokens33K tokensClaude Opus 4.8
Input price / 1M$5 $0.4 GPT-4.1 mini
Output price / 1M$25 $1.6 GPT-4.1 mini
Cached input / 1M$0.5 $0.1 GPT-4.1 mini
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$30$2GPT-4.1 mini
Modalitiestext · visiontext · visionTie
Released2026-05-282025-04-14
Cited benchmark scores177
Reliability

Provider status

All providers
More matchups

Claude Opus 4.8 vs …

More matchups

GPT-4.1 mini vs …

Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Claude Opus 4.8 and GPT-4.1 mini on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.