Compare / head-to-head
Claude Opus 4vsClaude Opus 4.6
Claude Opus 4.6 leads 4 of 4 shared benchmarks. Claude Opus 4.6 is 3x cheaper per token. Claude Opus 4.6 has the larger context window (1M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 4
Claude Opus 4.6 leads
Cheaper per token
Claude Opus 4.6
3x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Claude Opus 4.6
1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100%
Anthropic
Claude Opus 4
Anthropic · released 2025-05-22
textvision
Claude Opus 4.6
Anthropic · released 2026-02-05
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
4 shared · 2 only Claude Opus 4 · 14 only Claude Opus 4.6| Benchmark | Claude Opus 4 | Claude Opus 4.6 | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 4 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 72.5% ↗ | 80.8% ↗ | -8.3 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| GPQA Diamond | 76.3% ↗epoch | 91.3% ↗ | -15 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 64.4% ↗epoch | 94.4% ↗epoch | -30 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 70.7% ↗epoch | 78.7% ↗epoch | -8 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| Only Claude Opus 4 reports · 2 | ||||
| AIME 2024 (no extended thinking) | 33.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Terminal-bench | 43.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only Claude Opus 4.6 reports · 14 | ||||
| AIME 2026 | not reported | 96.7% ↗matharena | — | — |
| LMArena Elo | not reported | 1497.5 ↗ | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-2 (Verified) | not reported | 68.8% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 26.8% ↗epoch | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 66% ↗epoch | — | — |
| MCP Atlas | not reported | 59.5% ↗ | — | — |
| MMMLU | not reported | 91.1% ↗ | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (no tools) | not reported | 73.9% ↗ | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (with tools) | not reported | 77.3% ↗ | — | — |
| OSWorld-Verified | not reported | 72.7% ↗ | — | — |
| SimpleQA Verified | not reported | 47% ↗epoch | — | — |
| Tau2-bench Retail | not reported | 91.9% ↗ | — | — |
| Tau2-bench Telecom | not reported | 99.3% ↗ | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench 2.0 | not reported | 65.4% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Claude Opus 4 minus Claude Opus 4.6 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Claude Opus 4 | Claude Opus 4.6 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 200K tokens | 1M tokens | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| Max output | 32K tokens | 128K tokens | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| Input price / 1M | $15 ↗ | $5 ↗ | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| Output price / 1M | $75 ↗ | $25 ↗ | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| Cached input / 1M | $1.5 ↗ | $0.5 ↗ | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $90 | $30 | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2025-05-22 | 2026-02-05 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 6 | 19 | — |
Reliability
Anthropic status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Claude Opus 4 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
Claude Opus 4.6 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Claude Opus 4 and Claude Opus 4.6 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.