Compare / head-to-head
Claude Opus 4vsgpt-oss-20b
Claude Opus 4 leads 2 of 3 shared benchmarks. Claude Opus 4 has the larger context window (200K tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
2 – 1
Claude Opus 4 leads
Cheaper per token
—
list price, input + output
Larger context
Claude Opus 4
200K tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · 94.2446%
Anthropic · OpenAI
Claude Opus 4
Anthropic · released 2025-05-22
textvision
gpt-oss-20b
OpenAI · released 2025-08-05
text
- Context
- 131K
- Max out
- 131K
- Input /1M
- —
- Output /1M
- —
- Cached /1M
- —
- Scores
- 6 · 5 core
Quality
Benchmark matrix
3 shared · 3 only Claude Opus 4 · 2 only gpt-oss-20b| Benchmark | Claude Opus 4 | gpt-oss-20b | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 3 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 72.5% ↗ | 60.7% ↗ | +11.8 pt | Claude Opus 4 |
| GPQA Diamond | 76.3% ↗epoch | 71.5% ↗ | +4.8 pt | Claude Opus 4 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 64.4% ↗epoch | 65.3% ↗epoch | -0.9 pt | gpt-oss-20b |
| Only Claude Opus 4 reports · 3 | ||||
| AIME 2024 (no extended thinking) | 33.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 70.7% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| Terminal-bench | 43.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only gpt-oss-20b reports · 2 | ||||
| AIME 2025 | not reported | 89.2% ↗matharena ⚠ | — | — |
| LMArena Elo | not reported | 1287.3 ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Claude Opus 4 minus gpt-oss-20b in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Claude Opus 4 | gpt-oss-20b | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 200K tokens | 131K tokens | Claude Opus 4 |
| Max output | 32K tokens | 131K tokens | gpt-oss-20b |
| Input price / 1M | $15 ↗ | — | — |
| Output price / 1M | $75 ↗ | — | — |
| Cached input / 1M | $1.5 ↗ | — | — |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $90 | — | — |
| Modalities | text · vision | text | Claude Opus 4 |
| Released | 2025-05-22 | 2025-08-05 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 6 | 6 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Claude Opus 4 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
gpt-oss-20b vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Claude Opus 4 and gpt-oss-20b on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.