Compare / head-to-head
Claude Sonnet 4.5vsGrok 4.6
Grok 4.6 leads 5 of 5 shared benchmarks. Grok 4.6 is 2.3x cheaper per token. Grok 4.6 has the larger context window (500K tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 5
Grok 4.6 leads
Cheaper per token
Grok 4.6
2.3x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Grok 4.6
500K tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · —
Anthropic · xAI
Claude Sonnet 4.5
Anthropic · released 2025-09-29
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
5 shared · 15 only Claude Sonnet 4.5 · 10 only Grok 4.6| Benchmark | Claude Sonnet 4.5 | Grok 4.6 | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 5 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 83.4% ↗ | 94% ↗epoch | -10.6 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 2.4% ↗epoch | 31.7% ↗epoch | -29.3 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 23.9% ↗epoch | 66% ↗epoch | -42.1 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 77.8% ↗epoch | 99.2% ↗epoch | -21.4 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| SimpleQA Verified | 30.7% ↗epoch | 49.3% ↗epoch | -18.6 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| Only Claude Sonnet 4.5 reports · 15 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 77.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2025 | 84.2% ↗matharena ⚠ | not reported | — | — |
| Humanity's Last Exam (no tools) | 17.7% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-2 (Verified) | 13.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| GDPval-AA | 1276 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Humanity's Last Exam (with tools) | 33.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MCP Atlas | 43.8% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMLU | 89.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (no tools) | 63.4% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (with tools) | 68.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| OSWorld-Verified | 61.4% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 71.3% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| Tau2-bench Retail | 86.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Tau2-bench Telecom | 98% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench 2.0 | 51% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only Grok 4.6 reports · 10 | ||||
| AA-Briefcase | not reported | 1577 ↗ | — | — |
| APEX-Agents | not reported | 57.5% ↗ | — | — |
| APEX-SWE | not reported | 56.4% ↗ | — | — |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index | not reported | 61 ↗ | — | — |
| CursorBench 3.2 | not reported | 69.9% ↗ | — | — |
| DeepSWE v1.1 | not reported | 65.9% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierCode v1.1 (Extended) | not reported | 61.3% ↗ | — | — |
| GDPVal-AA v2 | not reported | 1753 ↗ | — | — |
| Harvey LAB (Vals) | not reported | 15.8% ↗ | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench 3.0 | not reported | 26% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Claude Sonnet 4.5 minus Grok 4.6 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Claude Sonnet 4.5 | Grok 4.6 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 200K tokens | 500K tokens | Grok 4.6 |
| Max output | 64K tokens | — | — |
| Input price / 1M | $3 ↗ | $2 ↗ | Grok 4.6 |
| Output price / 1M | $15 ↗ | $6 ↗ | Grok 4.6 |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.3 ↗ | $0.5 ↗ | Claude Sonnet 4.5 |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $18 | $8 | Grok 4.6 |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2025-09-29 | 2026-08-12 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 21 | 15 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Claude Sonnet 4.5 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
Grok 4.6 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Claude Sonnet 4.5 and Grok 4.6 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.