Compare / head-to-head
Claude Sonnet 4.6vsGPT-4.1 mini
Claude Sonnet 4.6 leads 3 of 3 shared benchmarks. GPT-4.1 mini is 9x cheaper per token. GPT-4.1 mini has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
3 – 0
Claude Sonnet 4.6 leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-4.1 mini
9x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-4.1 mini
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · 94.2446%
Anthropic · OpenAI
Claude Sonnet 4.6
Anthropic · released 2026-02-17
textvision
GPT-4.1 mini
OpenAI · released 2025-04-14
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
3 shared · 15 only Claude Sonnet 4.6 · 3 only GPT-4.1 mini| Benchmark | Claude Sonnet 4.6 | GPT-4.1 mini | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 3 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 89.9% ↗ | 65% ↗ | +24.9 pt | Claude Sonnet 4.6 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 85.8% ↗epoch | 44.7% ↗epoch | +41.1 pt | Claude Sonnet 4.6 |
| SimpleQA Verified | 35.5% ↗epoch | 12.7% ↗epoch | +22.8 pt | Claude Sonnet 4.6 |
| Only Claude Sonnet 4.6 reports · 15 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 79.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Humanity's Last Exam (no tools) | 33.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| LMArena Elo | 1458.3 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-2 (Verified) | 58.3% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| GDPval-AA | 1633 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Humanity's Last Exam (with tools) | 49% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MCP Atlas | 61.3% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMLU | 89.3% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (no tools) | 74.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (with tools) | 75.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| OSWorld-Verified | 72.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 75.2% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| Tau2-bench Retail | 91.7% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Tau2-bench Telecom | 97.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench 2.0 | 59.1% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-4.1 mini reports · 3 | ||||
| MMLU | not reported | 87.5% ↗ | — | — |
| AIME 2024 | not reported | 49.6% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 6.7% ↗epoch | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Claude Sonnet 4.6 minus GPT-4.1 mini in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Claude Sonnet 4.6 | GPT-4.1 mini | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1M tokens | 1.0M tokens | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Max output | 128K tokens | 33K tokens | Claude Sonnet 4.6 |
| Input price / 1M | $3 ↗ | $0.4 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Output price / 1M | $15 ↗ | $1.6 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.3 ↗ | $0.1 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $18 | $2 | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2026-02-17 | 2025-04-14 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 19 | 7 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Claude Sonnet 4.6 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-4.1 mini vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Claude Sonnet 4.6 and GPT-4.1 mini on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.