Compare / head-to-head
Command RvsGPT-4.1 mini
Command R and GPT-4.1 mini do not yet share a public benchmark, so quality cannot be compared apples-to-apples. Command R is 2.7x cheaper per token. GPT-4.1 mini has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0
no overlap yet
Cheaper per token
Command R
2.7x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-4.1 mini
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · 94.8718%
Cohere · OpenAI
Command R
Cohere · released 2024-08-30
text
GPT-4.1 mini
OpenAI · released 2025-04-14
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
0 shared · 1 only Command R · 6 only GPT-4.1 mini| Benchmark | Command R | GPT-4.1 mini | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 0 | ||||
| No public benchmark is reported for both models yet. | ||||
| Only Command R reports · 1 | ||||
| LMArena Elo | 1163 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-4.1 mini reports · 6 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | not reported | 65% ↗ | — | — |
| MMLU | not reported | 87.5% ↗ | — | — |
| AIME 2024 | not reported | 49.6% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 6.7% ↗epoch | — | — |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 44.7% ↗epoch | — | — |
| SimpleQA Verified | not reported | 12.7% ↗epoch | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Command R minus GPT-4.1 mini in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Command R | GPT-4.1 mini | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 128K tokens | 1.0M tokens | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Max output | 4K tokens | 33K tokens | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Input price / 1M | $0.15 ↗ | $0.4 ↗ | Command R |
| Output price / 1M | $0.6 ↗ | $1.6 ↗ | Command R |
| Cached input / 1M | — | $0.1 ↗ | — |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $0.75 | $2 | Command R |
| Modalities | text | text · vision | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Released | 2024-08-30 | 2025-04-14 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 1 | 7 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Command R vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-4.1 mini vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Command R and GPT-4.1 mini on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.