Compare / head-to-head
Command RvsGrok 4.20 Reasoning
Command R and Grok 4.20 Reasoning do not yet share a public benchmark, so quality cannot be compared apples-to-apples. Command R is 5x cheaper per token. Grok 4.20 Reasoning has the larger context window (1M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0
no overlap yet
Cheaper per token
Command R
5x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · —
Cohere · xAI
Command R
Cohere · released 2024-08-30
text
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
xAI · released 2026-03-09
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
0 shared · 1 only Command R · 5 only Grok 4.20 Reasoning| Benchmark | Command R | Grok 4.20 Reasoning | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 0 | ||||
| No public benchmark is reported for both models yet. | ||||
| Only Command R reports · 1 | ||||
| LMArena Elo | 1163 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only Grok 4.20 Reasoning reports · 5 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | not reported | 89.3% ↗epoch | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 17.1% ↗epoch | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 44.9% ↗epoch | — | — |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 92.2% ↗epoch | — | — |
| SimpleQA Verified | not reported | 30.2% ↗epoch | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Command R minus Grok 4.20 Reasoning in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Command R | Grok 4.20 Reasoning | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 128K tokens | 1M tokens | Grok 4.20 Reasoning |
| Max output | 4K tokens | — | — |
| Input price / 1M | $0.15 ↗ | $1.25 ↗ | Command R |
| Output price / 1M | $0.6 ↗ | $2.5 ↗ | Command R |
| Cached input / 1M | — | $0.2 ↗ | — |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $0.75 | $3.75 | Command R |
| Modalities | text | text · vision | Grok 4.20 Reasoning |
| Released | 2024-08-30 | 2026-03-09 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 1 | 5 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Command R vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
Grok 4.20 Reasoning vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Command R and Grok 4.20 Reasoning on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.