Compare / head-to-head
DeepSeek R1vsGPT-5.2
GPT-5.2 leads 5 of 5 shared benchmarks. GPT-5.2 has the larger context window (400K tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 5
GPT-5.2 leads
Cheaper per token
—
list price, input + output
Larger context
GPT-5.2
400K tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · 95.5056%
DeepSeek · OpenAI
DeepSeek R1
DeepSeek · released 2025-01-20
text
- Context
- 128K
- Max out
- 33K
- Input /1M
- —
- Output /1M
- —
- Cached /1M
- —
- Scores
- 8 · 7 core
Quality
Benchmark matrix
5 shared · 2 only DeepSeek R1 · 9 only GPT-5.2| Benchmark | DeepSeek R1 | GPT-5.2 | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 5 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 49.2% ↗ | 80% ↗ | -30.8 pt | GPT-5.2 |
| GPQA Diamond | 71.5% ↗ | 92.4% ↗ | -20.9 pt | GPT-5.2 |
| AIME 2025 | 70% ↗matharena | 100% ↗ | -30 pt | GPT-5.2 |
| LMArena Elo | 1372.6 ↗ | 1412.4 ↗ | -39.8 | GPT-5.2 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 53.3% ↗epoch | 96.1% ↗epoch | -42.8 pt | GPT-5.2 |
| Only DeepSeek R1 reports · 2 | ||||
| MMLU | 90.8% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMLU-Pro | 84% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-5.2 reports · 9 | ||||
| AIME 2026 | not reported | 98.3% ↗matharena | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-1 (Verified) | not reported | 86.2% ↗ | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-2 (Verified) | not reported | 52.9% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 31.7% ↗epoch | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 67.4% ↗epoch | — | — |
| GDPval (wins or ties) | not reported | 70.9% ↗ | — | — |
| SimpleQA Verified | not reported | 37.1% ↗epoch | — | — |
| SWE-Bench Pro | not reported | 55.6% ↗ | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 73.8% ↗epoch | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is DeepSeek R1 minus GPT-5.2 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | DeepSeek R1 | GPT-5.2 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 128K tokens | 400K tokens | GPT-5.2 |
| Max output | 33K tokens | 128K tokens | GPT-5.2 |
| Input price / 1M | — | $1.75 ↗ | — |
| Output price / 1M | — | $14 ↗ | — |
| Cached input / 1M | — | $0.175 ↗ | — |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | — | $15.75 | — |
| Modalities | text | text · vision | GPT-5.2 |
| Released | 2025-01-20 | 2025-12-11 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 8 | 16 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
DeepSeek R1 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-5.2 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run DeepSeek R1 and GPT-5.2 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.