Compare / head-to-head
Gemini 3.1 Pro PreviewvsGemma 4 31B
Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview leads 3 of 3 shared benchmarks. Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
3 – 0
Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview leads
Cheaper per token
—
list price, input + output
Larger context
Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100%
Google
Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview
Google · released 2026-02-19
textvisionaudio
Gemma 4 31B
Google · released 2026-04-02
textvision
- Context
- 256K
- Max out
- —
- Input /1M
- —
- Output /1M
- —
- Cached /1M
- —
- Scores
- 6 · 5 core
Quality
Benchmark matrix
3 shared · 6 only Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview · 3 only Gemma 4 31B| Benchmark | Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview | Gemma 4 31B | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 3 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 94.3% ↗ | 84.3% ↗ | +10 pt | Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview |
| AIME 2026 | 98.3% ↗matharena ⚠ | 89.2% ↗ | +9.1 pt | Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview |
| LMArena Elo | 1480.1 ↗ | 1441.7 ↗ | +38.4 | Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview |
| Only Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview reports · 6 | ||||
| ARC-AGI-2 | 77.1% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 26.8% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 59.6% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 95.6% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| SimpleQA Verified | 73.5% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-Bench Pro | 54.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only Gemma 4 31B reports · 3 | ||||
| MMLU-Pro | not reported | 85.2% ↗ | — | — |
| Humanity's Last Exam (no tools) | not reported | 19.5% ↗ | — | — |
| LiveCodeBench v6 | not reported | 80% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview minus Gemma 4 31B in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview | Gemma 4 31B | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1.0M tokens | 256K tokens | Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview |
| Max output | 66K tokens | — | — |
| Input price / 1M | $2 ↗ | — | — |
| Output price / 1M | $12 ↗ | — | — |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.2 ↗ | — | — |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $14 | — | — |
| Modalities | text · vision · audio | text · vision | Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview |
| Released | 2026-02-19 | 2026-04-02 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 10 | 6 | — |
Reliability
Google status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
Gemma 4 31B vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview and Gemma 4 31B on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.