ModelsCompareBest forBenchmarksStatusPricingAPI
Compare / head-to-head

GPT-4.1 minivsGPT-5.4

GPT-5.4 leads 4 of 4 shared benchmarks. GPT-4.1 mini is 8.8x cheaper per token. GPT-5.4 has the larger context window (1.1M tokens).

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
0 – 4
GPT-5.4 leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-4.1 mini
8.8x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-5.4
1.1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.2446%
OpenAI
GPT-4.1 mini
OpenAI · released 2025-04-14
textvision
Context
1.0M
Max out
33K
Input /1M
$0.4
Output /1M
$1.6
Cached /1M
$0.1
Scores
7 · 6 core
GPT-5.4
OpenAI · released 2026-03-05
textvision
Context
1.1M
Max out
128K
Input /1M
$2.5
Output /1M
$15
Cached /1M
$0.25
Scores
21 · 11 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkGPT-4.1 miniGPT-5.4ΔEdge
Reported by both · 4
GPQA Diamond65% 92.8% -27.8 ptGPT-5.4
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)6.7% epoch78.6% epoch-71.9 ptGPT-5.4
OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run)44.7% epoch97.8% epoch-53.1 ptGPT-5.4
SimpleQA Verified12.7% epoch45.1% epoch-32.4 ptGPT-5.4
Only GPT-4.1 mini reports · 2
MMLU87.5% not reported
AIME 202449.6% not reported
Only GPT-5.4 reports · 16
AIME 2026not reported99.2% matharena
Humanity's Last Exam (no tools)not reported39.8%
LMArena Elonot reported1452.6
BrowseCompnot reported82.7%
FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run)not reported49% epoch
GDPval (wins or ties)not reported83%
Humanity's Last Exam (with tools)not reported52.1%
MCP Atlasnot reported67.2%
MMMU-Pro (no tools)not reported81.2%
MMMU-Pro (with tools)not reported82.1%
OSWorld-Verifiednot reported75%
SWE-Bench Pronot reported57.7%
SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run)not reported76.9% epoch
Tau2-bench Telecomnot reported98.9%
Terminal-Bench 2.0not reported75.1%
Toolathlonnot reported54.6%
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-4.1 mini minus GPT-5.4 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecGPT-4.1 miniGPT-5.4Edge
Context window1.0M tokens1.1M tokensGPT-5.4
Max output33K tokens128K tokensGPT-5.4
Input price / 1M$0.4 $2.5 GPT-4.1 mini
Output price / 1M$1.6 $15 GPT-4.1 mini
Cached input / 1M$0.1 $0.25 GPT-4.1 mini
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$2$17.5GPT-4.1 mini
Modalitiestext · visiontext · visionTie
Released2025-04-142026-03-05
Cited benchmark scores721
Reliability

OpenAI status

All providers
More matchups

GPT-4.1 mini vs …

Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-4.1 mini and GPT-5.4 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.