Compare / head-to-head
GPT-4.1 minivsGPT-5 mini
GPT-5 mini leads 4 of 4 shared benchmarks. GPT-4.1 mini is 1.1x cheaper per token. GPT-4.1 mini has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 4
GPT-5 mini leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-4.1 mini
1.1x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-4.1 mini
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
95.2802%
OpenAI
GPT-4.1 mini
OpenAI · released 2025-04-14
textvision
GPT-5 mini
OpenAI · released 2025-08-07
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
4 shared · 2 only GPT-4.1 mini · 4 only GPT-5 mini| Benchmark | GPT-4.1 mini | GPT-5 mini | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 4 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 65% ↗ | 81.6% ↗ | -16.6 pt | GPT-5 mini |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 6.7% ↗epoch | 46.7% ↗epoch | -40 pt | GPT-5 mini |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 44.7% ↗epoch | 86.7% ↗epoch | -42 pt | GPT-5 mini |
| SimpleQA Verified | 12.7% ↗epoch | 21.6% ↗epoch | -8.9 pt | GPT-5 mini |
| Only GPT-4.1 mini reports · 2 | ||||
| MMLU | 87.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2024 | 49.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-5 mini reports · 4 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | not reported | 71% ↗ | — | — |
| AIME 2025 | not reported | 87.5% ↗matharena ⚠ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 12.2% ↗epoch | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 64.7% ↗epoch | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-4.1 mini minus GPT-5 mini in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | GPT-4.1 mini | GPT-5 mini | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1.0M tokens | 400K tokens | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Max output | 33K tokens | 128K tokens | GPT-5 mini |
| Input price / 1M | $0.4 ↗ | $0.25 ↗ | GPT-5 mini |
| Output price / 1M | $1.6 ↗ | $2 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.1 ↗ | $0.025 ↗ | GPT-5 mini |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $2 | $2.25 | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2025-04-14 | 2025-08-07 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 7 | 9 | — |
Reliability
OpenAI status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
GPT-4.1 mini vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-5 mini vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-4.1 mini and GPT-5 mini on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.