Compare / head-to-head
GPT-4.1 minivsGrok 4.20 Reasoning
Grok 4.20 Reasoning leads 4 of 4 shared benchmarks. GPT-4.1 mini is 1.9x cheaper per token. GPT-4.1 mini has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 4
Grok 4.20 Reasoning leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-4.1 mini
1.9x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-4.1 mini
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.2446% · —
OpenAI · xAI
GPT-4.1 mini
OpenAI · released 2025-04-14
textvision
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
xAI · released 2026-03-09
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
4 shared · 2 only GPT-4.1 mini · 1 only Grok 4.20 Reasoning| Benchmark | GPT-4.1 mini | Grok 4.20 Reasoning | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 4 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 65% ↗ | 89.3% ↗epoch | -24.3 pt | Grok 4.20 Reasoning |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 6.7% ↗epoch | 44.9% ↗epoch | -38.2 pt | Grok 4.20 Reasoning |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 44.7% ↗epoch | 92.2% ↗epoch | -47.5 pt | Grok 4.20 Reasoning |
| SimpleQA Verified | 12.7% ↗epoch | 30.2% ↗epoch | -17.5 pt | Grok 4.20 Reasoning |
| Only GPT-4.1 mini reports · 2 | ||||
| MMLU | 87.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2024 | 49.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only Grok 4.20 Reasoning reports · 1 | ||||
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 17.1% ↗epoch | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-4.1 mini minus Grok 4.20 Reasoning in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | GPT-4.1 mini | Grok 4.20 Reasoning | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1.0M tokens | 1M tokens | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Max output | 33K tokens | — | — |
| Input price / 1M | $0.4 ↗ | $1.25 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Output price / 1M | $1.6 ↗ | $2.5 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.1 ↗ | $0.2 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $2 | $3.75 | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2025-04-14 | 2026-03-09 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 7 | 5 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
GPT-4.1 mini vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
Grok 4.20 Reasoning vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-4.1 mini and Grok 4.20 Reasoning on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.