Compare / head-to-head
GPT-4.1vsGPT-5.2
GPT-5.2 leads 6 of 6 shared benchmarks. GPT-4.1 is 1.6x cheaper per token. GPT-4.1 has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 6
GPT-5.2 leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-4.1
1.6x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-4.1
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
95.5679%
OpenAI
GPT-4.1
OpenAI · released 2025-04-14
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
6 shared · 3 only GPT-4.1 · 8 only GPT-5.2| Benchmark | GPT-4.1 | GPT-5.2 | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 6 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 54.6% ↗ | 80% ↗ | -25.4 pt | GPT-5.2 |
| GPQA Diamond | 66.3% ↗ | 92.4% ↗ | -26.1 pt | GPT-5.2 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 6% ↗epoch | 67.4% ↗epoch | -61.4 pt | GPT-5.2 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 38.3% ↗epoch | 96.1% ↗epoch | -57.8 pt | GPT-5.2 |
| SimpleQA Verified | 31.1% ↗epoch | 37.1% ↗epoch | -6 pt | GPT-5.2 |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 48.5% ↗epoch | 73.8% ↗epoch | -25.3 pt | GPT-5.2 |
| Only GPT-4.1 reports · 3 | ||||
| MMLU | 90.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2024 | 48.1% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Video-MME (long, no subtitles) | 72% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-5.2 reports · 8 | ||||
| AIME 2025 | not reported | 100% ↗ | — | — |
| AIME 2026 | not reported | 98.3% ↗matharena | — | — |
| LMArena Elo | not reported | 1412.4 ↗ | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-1 (Verified) | not reported | 86.2% ↗ | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-2 (Verified) | not reported | 52.9% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 31.7% ↗epoch | — | — |
| GDPval (wins or ties) | not reported | 70.9% ↗ | — | — |
| SWE-Bench Pro | not reported | 55.6% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-4.1 minus GPT-5.2 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | GPT-4.1 | GPT-5.2 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1.0M tokens | 400K tokens | GPT-4.1 |
| Max output | 33K tokens | 128K tokens | GPT-5.2 |
| Input price / 1M | $2 ↗ | $1.75 ↗ | GPT-5.2 |
| Output price / 1M | $8 ↗ | $14 ↗ | GPT-4.1 |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.5 ↗ | $0.175 ↗ | GPT-5.2 |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $10 | $15.75 | GPT-4.1 |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2025-04-14 | 2025-12-11 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 10 | 16 | — |
Reliability
OpenAI status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
GPT-4.1 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-5.2 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-4.1 and GPT-5.2 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.