ModelsCompareBest forBenchmarksStatusPricingAPI
Compare / head-to-head

GPT-4o minivsGPT-5.5

GPT-5.5 leads 4 of 4 shared benchmarks. GPT-4o mini is 46.7x cheaper per token. GPT-5.5 has the larger context window (1M tokens).

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
0 – 4
GPT-5.5 leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-4o mini
46.7x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-5.5
1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.2446%
OpenAI
GPT-4o mini
OpenAI · released 2024-07-18
textvision
Context
128K
Max out
16K
Input /1M
$0.15
Output /1M
$0.6
Cached /1M
$0.075
Scores
7 · 6 core
GPT-5.5
OpenAI · released 2026-04-23
textvision
Context
1M
Max out
128K
Input /1M
$5
Output /1M
$30
Cached /1M
$0.5
Scores
21 · 10 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkGPT-4o miniGPT-5.5ΔEdge
Reported by both · 4
GPQA Diamond40.2% 90.7% epoch-50.5 ptGPT-5.5
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)0.7% epoch85.3% epoch-84.6 ptGPT-5.5
OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run)6.9% epoch84.4% epoch-77.5 ptGPT-5.5
SimpleQA Verified8.3% epoch63% epoch-54.7 ptGPT-5.5
Only GPT-4o mini reports · 2
MMLU82% not reported
AIME 20248.6% not reported
Only GPT-5.5 reports · 17
AIME 2026not reported100% matharena
LMArena Elonot reported1465.6
ARC-AGI-1 (Verified)not reported95%
ARC-AGI-2 (Verified)not reported85%
BrowseCompnot reported84.4%
FrontierMath Tier 1-3not reported51.7%
FrontierMath Tier 4not reported35.4%
FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run)not reported72.5% epoch
GDPval (wins or ties)not reported84.9%
MCP Atlasnot reported75.3%
MMMU-Pro (no tools)not reported81.2%
MMMU-Pro (with tools)not reported83.2%
OSWorld-Verifiednot reported78.7%
SWE-Bench Pronot reported58.6%
Tau2-bench Telecomnot reported98%
Terminal-Bench 2.0not reported82.7%
Toolathlonnot reported55.6%
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-4o mini minus GPT-5.5 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecGPT-4o miniGPT-5.5Edge
Context window128K tokens1M tokensGPT-5.5
Max output16K tokens128K tokensGPT-5.5
Input price / 1M$0.15 $5 GPT-4o mini
Output price / 1M$0.6 $30 GPT-4o mini
Cached input / 1M$0.075 $0.5 GPT-4o mini
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$0.75$35GPT-4o mini
Modalitiestext · visiontext · visionTie
Released2024-07-182026-04-23
Cited benchmark scores721
Reliability

OpenAI status

All providers
More matchups

GPT-4o mini vs …

Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-4o mini and GPT-5.5 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.