Compare / head-to-head
GPT-4ovsGPT-5.5
GPT-5.5 leads 4 of 4 shared benchmarks. GPT-4o is 2.8x cheaper per token. GPT-5.5 has the larger context window (1M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 4
GPT-5.5 leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-4o
2.8x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-5.5
1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.2446%
OpenAI
GPT-4o
OpenAI · released 2024-05-13
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
4 shared · 4 only GPT-4o · 17 only GPT-5.5| Benchmark | GPT-4o | GPT-5.5 | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 4 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 46% ↗ | 90.7% ↗epoch | -44.7 pt | GPT-5.5 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 0.4% ↗epoch | 85.3% ↗epoch | -84.9 pt | GPT-5.5 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 6.4% ↗epoch | 84.4% ↗epoch | -78 pt | GPT-5.5 |
| SimpleQA Verified | 26% ↗epoch | 63% ↗epoch | -37 pt | GPT-5.5 |
| Only GPT-4o reports · 4 | ||||
| MMLU | 85.7% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2025 | 11.7% ↗matharena | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2024 | 13.1% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 31% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-5.5 reports · 17 | ||||
| AIME 2026 | not reported | 100% ↗matharena ⚠ | — | — |
| LMArena Elo | not reported | 1465.6 ↗ | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-1 (Verified) | not reported | 95% ↗ | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-2 (Verified) | not reported | 85% ↗ | — | — |
| BrowseComp | not reported | 84.4% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 1-3 | not reported | 51.7% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 | not reported | 35.4% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 72.5% ↗epoch | — | — |
| GDPval (wins or ties) | not reported | 84.9% ↗ | — | — |
| MCP Atlas | not reported | 75.3% ↗ | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (no tools) | not reported | 81.2% ↗ | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (with tools) | not reported | 83.2% ↗ | — | — |
| OSWorld-Verified | not reported | 78.7% ↗ | — | — |
| SWE-Bench Pro | not reported | 58.6% ↗ | — | — |
| Tau2-bench Telecom | not reported | 98% ↗ | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench 2.0 | not reported | 82.7% ↗ | — | — |
| Toolathlon | not reported | 55.6% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-4o minus GPT-5.5 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | GPT-4o | GPT-5.5 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 128K tokens | 1M tokens | GPT-5.5 |
| Max output | 16K tokens | 128K tokens | GPT-5.5 |
| Input price / 1M | $2.5 ↗ | $5 ↗ | GPT-4o |
| Output price / 1M | $10 ↗ | $30 ↗ | GPT-4o |
| Cached input / 1M | $1.25 ↗ | $0.5 ↗ | GPT-5.5 |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $12.5 | $35 | GPT-4o |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2024-05-13 | 2026-04-23 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 9 | 21 | — |
Reliability
OpenAI status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
GPT-4o vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-5.5 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-4o and GPT-5.5 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.