Compare / head-to-head
GPT-4ovsGrok 4.6
Grok 4.6 leads 4 of 4 shared benchmarks. Grok 4.6 is 1.6x cheaper per token. Grok 4.6 has the larger context window (500K tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 4
Grok 4.6 leads
Cheaper per token
Grok 4.6
1.6x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Grok 4.6
500K tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.2446% · —
OpenAI · xAI
GPT-4o
OpenAI · released 2024-05-13
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
4 shared · 4 only GPT-4o · 11 only Grok 4.6| Benchmark | GPT-4o | Grok 4.6 | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 4 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 46% ↗ | 94% ↗epoch | -48 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 0.4% ↗epoch | 66% ↗epoch | -65.6 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 6.4% ↗epoch | 99.2% ↗epoch | -92.8 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| SimpleQA Verified | 26% ↗epoch | 49.3% ↗epoch | -23.3 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| Only GPT-4o reports · 4 | ||||
| MMLU | 85.7% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2025 | 11.7% ↗matharena | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2024 | 13.1% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 31% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| Only Grok 4.6 reports · 11 | ||||
| AA-Briefcase | not reported | 1577 ↗ | — | — |
| APEX-Agents | not reported | 57.5% ↗ | — | — |
| APEX-SWE | not reported | 56.4% ↗ | — | — |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index | not reported | 61 ↗ | — | — |
| CursorBench 3.2 | not reported | 69.9% ↗ | — | — |
| DeepSWE v1.1 | not reported | 65.9% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierCode v1.1 (Extended) | not reported | 61.3% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 31.7% ↗epoch | — | — |
| GDPVal-AA v2 | not reported | 1753 ↗ | — | — |
| Harvey LAB (Vals) | not reported | 15.8% ↗ | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench 3.0 | not reported | 26% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-4o minus Grok 4.6 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | GPT-4o | Grok 4.6 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 128K tokens | 500K tokens | Grok 4.6 |
| Max output | 16K tokens | — | — |
| Input price / 1M | $2.5 ↗ | $2 ↗ | Grok 4.6 |
| Output price / 1M | $10 ↗ | $6 ↗ | Grok 4.6 |
| Cached input / 1M | $1.25 ↗ | $0.5 ↗ | Grok 4.6 |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $12.5 | $8 | Grok 4.6 |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2024-05-13 | 2026-08-12 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 9 | 15 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
GPT-4o vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
Grok 4.6 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-4o and Grok 4.6 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.