ModelsCompareBest forBenchmarksStatusPricingAPI
Compare / head-to-head

GPT-5.1vsGPT-5.4

GPT-5.4 leads 4 of 5 shared benchmarks. GPT-5.1 is 1.6x cheaper per token. GPT-5.4 has the larger context window (1.1M tokens).

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
1 – 4
GPT-5.4 leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-5.1
1.6x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-5.4
1.1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.2446%
OpenAI
GPT-5.1
OpenAI · released 2025-11-13
textvision
Context
400K
Max out
128K
Input /1M
$1.25
Output /1M
$10
Cached /1M
$0.125
Scores
6 · 6 core
GPT-5.4
OpenAI · released 2026-03-05
textvision
Context
1.1M
Max out
128K
Input /1M
$2.5
Output /1M
$15
Cached /1M
$0.25
Scores
21 · 11 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkGPT-5.1GPT-5.4ΔEdge
Reported by both · 5
GPQA Diamond87.6% epoch92.8% -5.2 ptGPT-5.4
LMArena Elo1422.6 1452.6 -30GPT-5.4
OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run)88.6% epoch97.8% epoch-9.2 ptGPT-5.4
SimpleQA Verified48% epoch45.1% epoch+2.9 ptGPT-5.1
SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run)68% epoch76.9% epoch-8.9 ptGPT-5.4
Only GPT-5.1 reports · 1
AIME 202594.2% matharenanot reported
Only GPT-5.4 reports · 15
AIME 2026not reported99.2% matharena
Humanity's Last Exam (no tools)not reported39.8%
BrowseCompnot reported82.7%
FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run)not reported49% epoch
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)not reported78.6% epoch
GDPval (wins or ties)not reported83%
Humanity's Last Exam (with tools)not reported52.1%
MCP Atlasnot reported67.2%
MMMU-Pro (no tools)not reported81.2%
MMMU-Pro (with tools)not reported82.1%
OSWorld-Verifiednot reported75%
SWE-Bench Pronot reported57.7%
Tau2-bench Telecomnot reported98.9%
Terminal-Bench 2.0not reported75.1%
Toolathlonnot reported54.6%
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-5.1 minus GPT-5.4 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecGPT-5.1GPT-5.4Edge
Context window400K tokens1.1M tokensGPT-5.4
Max output128K tokens128K tokensTie
Input price / 1M$1.25 $2.5 GPT-5.1
Output price / 1M$10 $15 GPT-5.1
Cached input / 1M$0.125 $0.25 GPT-5.1
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$11.25$17.5GPT-5.1
Modalitiestext · visiontext · visionTie
Released2025-11-132026-03-05
Cited benchmark scores621
Reliability

OpenAI status

All providers
Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-5.1 and GPT-5.4 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.