Compare / head-to-head
GPT-5.2vsGPT-5.6 Terra
GPT-5.6 Terra leads 6 of 6 shared benchmarks. GPT-5.6 Terra is 1.1x cheaper per token. GPT-5.6 Terra has the larger context window (1.1M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 6
GPT-5.6 Terra leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-5.6 Terra
1.1x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-5.6 Terra
1.1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.3463%
OpenAI
GPT-5.2
OpenAI · released 2025-12-11
textvision
GPT-5.6 Terra
OpenAI · released 2026-07-09
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
6 shared · 8 only GPT-5.2 · 1 only GPT-5.6 Terra| Benchmark | GPT-5.2 | GPT-5.6 Terra | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 6 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 92.4% ↗ | 92.9% ↗ | -0.5 pt | GPT-5.6 Terra |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 31.7% ↗epoch | 70.7% ↗epoch | -39 pt | GPT-5.6 Terra |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 67.4% ↗epoch | 86% ↗epoch | -18.6 pt | GPT-5.6 Terra |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 96.1% ↗epoch | 99.7% ↗epoch | -3.6 pt | GPT-5.6 Terra |
| SimpleQA Verified | 37.1% ↗epoch | 43.2% ↗epoch | -6.1 pt | GPT-5.6 Terra |
| SWE-Bench Pro | 55.6% ↗ | 63.4% ↗ | -7.8 pt | GPT-5.6 Terra |
| Only GPT-5.2 reports · 8 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 80% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2025 | 100% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2026 | 98.3% ↗matharena | not reported | — | — |
| LMArena Elo | 1412.4 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-1 (Verified) | 86.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-2 (Verified) | 52.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| GDPval (wins or ties) | 70.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 73.8% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-5.6 Terra reports · 1 | ||||
| DeepSWE v1.1 | not reported | 69.6% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-5.2 minus GPT-5.6 Terra in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | GPT-5.2 | GPT-5.6 Terra | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 400K tokens | 1.1M tokens | GPT-5.6 Terra |
| Max output | 128K tokens | 128K tokens | Tie |
| Input price / 1M | $1.75 ↗ | $2 ↗ | GPT-5.2 |
| Output price / 1M | $14 ↗ | $12 ↗ | GPT-5.6 Terra |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.175 ↗ | $0.2 ↗ | GPT-5.2 |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $15.75 | $14 | GPT-5.6 Terra |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2025-12-11 | 2026-07-09 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 16 | 8 | — |
Reliability
OpenAI status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
GPT-5.2 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-5.6 Terra vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-5.2 and GPT-5.6 Terra on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.