ModelsCompareBest forBenchmarksStatusPricingAPI
Compare / head-to-head

GPT-5.5vsgpt-oss-20b

GPT-5.5 leads 3 of 3 shared benchmarks. GPT-5.5 has the larger context window (1M tokens).

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
3 – 0
GPT-5.5 leads
Cheaper per token
list price, input + output
Larger context
GPT-5.5
1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
95.0617%
OpenAI
GPT-5.5
OpenAI · released 2026-04-23
textvision
Context
1M
Max out
128K
Input /1M
$5
Output /1M
$30
Cached /1M
$0.5
Scores
21 · 10 core
gpt-oss-20b
OpenAI · released 2025-08-05
text
Context
131K
Max out
131K
Input /1M
Output /1M
Cached /1M
Scores
6 · 5 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkGPT-5.5gpt-oss-20bΔEdge
Reported by both · 3
GPQA Diamond90.7% epoch71.5% +19.2 ptGPT-5.5
LMArena Elo1465.6 1287.3 +178.3GPT-5.5
OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run)84.4% epoch65.3% epoch+19.1 ptGPT-5.5
Only GPT-5.5 reports · 18
AIME 2026100% matharenanot reported
ARC-AGI-1 (Verified)95% not reported
ARC-AGI-2 (Verified)85% not reported
BrowseComp84.4% not reported
FrontierMath Tier 1-351.7% not reported
FrontierMath Tier 435.4% not reported
FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run)72.5% epochnot reported
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)85.3% epochnot reported
GDPval (wins or ties)84.9% not reported
MCP Atlas75.3% not reported
MMMU-Pro (no tools)81.2% not reported
MMMU-Pro (with tools)83.2% not reported
OSWorld-Verified78.7% not reported
SimpleQA Verified63% epochnot reported
SWE-Bench Pro58.6% not reported
Tau2-bench Telecom98% not reported
Terminal-Bench 2.082.7% not reported
Toolathlon55.6% not reported
Only gpt-oss-20b reports · 2
SWE-bench Verifiednot reported60.7%
AIME 2025not reported89.2% matharena
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-5.5 minus gpt-oss-20b in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecGPT-5.5gpt-oss-20bEdge
Context window1M tokens131K tokensGPT-5.5
Max output128K tokens131K tokensgpt-oss-20b
Input price / 1M$5
Output price / 1M$30
Cached input / 1M$0.5
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$35
Modalitiestext · visiontextGPT-5.5
Released2026-04-232025-08-05
Cited benchmark scores216
Reliability

OpenAI status

All providers
More matchups

gpt-oss-20b vs …

Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-5.5 and gpt-oss-20b on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.