Compare / head-to-head
GPT-6 AstravsGrok 4.6
GPT-6 Astra leads 5 of 5 shared benchmarks. Grok 4.6 is 7.5x cheaper per token. GPT-6 Astra has the larger context window (1.1M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
5 – 0
GPT-6 Astra leads
Cheaper per token
Grok 4.6
7.5x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-6 Astra
1.1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
95.0311% · —
OpenAI · xAI
GPT-6 Astra
OpenAI · released 2026-09-03
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
5 shared · 2 only GPT-6 Astra · 10 only Grok 4.6| Benchmark | GPT-6 Astra | Grok 4.6 | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 5 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 96% ↗ | 94% ↗epoch | +2 pt | GPT-6 Astra |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 97.6% ↗epoch | 31.7% ↗epoch | +65.9 pt | GPT-6 Astra |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 93.7% ↗epoch | 66% ↗epoch | +27.7 pt | GPT-6 Astra |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 100% ↗epoch | 99.2% ↗epoch | +0.8 pt | GPT-6 Astra |
| SimpleQA Verified | 75.6% ↗epoch | 49.3% ↗epoch | +26.3 pt | GPT-6 Astra |
| Only GPT-6 Astra reports · 2 | ||||
| AutomationBench | 41.4% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench Science 0.1 | 64.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only Grok 4.6 reports · 10 | ||||
| AA-Briefcase | not reported | 1577 ↗ | — | — |
| APEX-Agents | not reported | 57.5% ↗ | — | — |
| APEX-SWE | not reported | 56.4% ↗ | — | — |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index | not reported | 61 ↗ | — | — |
| CursorBench 3.2 | not reported | 69.9% ↗ | — | — |
| DeepSWE v1.1 | not reported | 65.9% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierCode v1.1 (Extended) | not reported | 61.3% ↗ | — | — |
| GDPVal-AA v2 | not reported | 1753 ↗ | — | — |
| Harvey LAB (Vals) | not reported | 15.8% ↗ | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench 3.0 | not reported | 26% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-6 Astra minus Grok 4.6 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | GPT-6 Astra | Grok 4.6 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1.1M tokens | 500K tokens | GPT-6 Astra |
| Max output | 128K tokens | — | — |
| Input price / 1M | $10 ↗ | $2 ↗ | Grok 4.6 |
| Output price / 1M | $50 ↗ | $6 ↗ | Grok 4.6 |
| Cached input / 1M | $1 ↗ | $0.5 ↗ | Grok 4.6 |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $60 | $8 | Grok 4.6 |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2026-09-03 | 2026-08-12 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 8 | 15 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
GPT-6 Astra vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
Grok 4.6 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-6 Astra and Grok 4.6 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.