Compare / head-to-head
gpt-oss-120bvsGrok 4.5
Grok 4.5 leads 3 of 3 shared benchmarks. Grok 4.5 has the larger context window (500K tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 3
Grok 4.5 leads
Cheaper per token
—
list price, input + output
Larger context
Grok 4.5
500K tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.2446% · —
OpenAI · xAI
gpt-oss-120b
OpenAI · released 2025-08-05
text
- Context
- 131K
- Max out
- 131K
- Input /1M
- —
- Output /1M
- —
- Cached /1M
- —
- Scores
- 6 · 5 core
Quality
Benchmark matrix
3 shared · 2 only gpt-oss-120b · 3 only Grok 4.5| Benchmark | gpt-oss-120b | Grok 4.5 | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 3 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 80.1% ↗ | 93.4% ↗epoch | -13.3 pt | Grok 4.5 |
| LMArena Elo | 1365.9 ↗ | 1450.1 ↗ | -84.2 | Grok 4.5 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 88.9% ↗epoch | 97.8% ↗epoch | -8.9 pt | Grok 4.5 |
| Only gpt-oss-120b reports · 2 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 62.4% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2025 | 90% ↗matharena ⚠ | not reported | — | — |
| Only Grok 4.5 reports · 3 | ||||
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 24.4% ↗epoch | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 57.2% ↗epoch | — | — |
| SimpleQA Verified | not reported | 48.3% ↗epoch | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is gpt-oss-120b minus Grok 4.5 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | gpt-oss-120b | Grok 4.5 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 131K tokens | 500K tokens | Grok 4.5 |
| Max output | 131K tokens | — | — |
| Input price / 1M | — | $2 ↗ | — |
| Output price / 1M | — | $6 ↗ | — |
| Cached input / 1M | — | $0.3 ↗ | — |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | — | $8 | — |
| Modalities | text | text · vision | Grok 4.5 |
| Released | 2025-08-05 | 2026-07-08 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 6 | 6 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
gpt-oss-120b vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
Grok 4.5 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run gpt-oss-120b and Grok 4.5 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.