ModelsCompareBest forBenchmarksStatusPricingAPI
Compare / head-to-head

Grok 4.20 Non-ReasoningvsGrok 4.20 Reasoning

Grok 4.20 Non-Reasoning and Grok 4.20 Reasoning do not yet share a public benchmark, so quality cannot be compared apples-to-apples. Both list the same combined token price. Both offer a 1M-token context window.

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
0
no overlap yet
Cheaper per token
Tie
list price, input + output
Larger context
Tie
both 1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
xAI
Grok 4.20 Non-Reasoning
xAI · released 2026-03-09
textvision
Context
1M
Max out
Input /1M
$1.25
Output /1M
$2.5
Cached /1M
$0.2
Scores
0 · 0 core
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
xAI · released 2026-03-09
textvision
Context
1M
Max out
Input /1M
$1.25
Output /1M
$2.5
Cached /1M
$0.2
Scores
5 · 5 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkGrok 4.20 Non-ReasoningGrok 4.20 ReasoningΔEdge
Reported by both · 0
No public benchmark is reported for both models yet.
Only Grok 4.20 Non-Reasoning reports · 0
Grok 4.20 Non-Reasoning reports nothing Grok 4.20 Reasoning does not.
Only Grok 4.20 Reasoning reports · 5
GPQA Diamondnot reported89.3% epoch
FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run)not reported17.1% epoch
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)not reported44.9% epoch
OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run)not reported92.2% epoch
SimpleQA Verifiednot reported30.2% epoch
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Grok 4.20 Non-Reasoning minus Grok 4.20 Reasoning in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecGrok 4.20 Non-ReasoningGrok 4.20 ReasoningEdge
Context window1M tokens1M tokensTie
Max output
Input price / 1M$1.25 $1.25 Tie
Output price / 1M$2.5 $2.5 Tie
Cached input / 1M$0.2 $0.2 Tie
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$3.75$3.75Tie
Modalitiestext · visiontext · visionTie
Released2026-03-092026-03-09
Cited benchmark scores05
Reliability

xAI status

All providers
More matchups

Grok 4.20 Reasoning vs …

Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Grok 4.20 Non-Reasoning and Grok 4.20 Reasoning on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.