ModelsCompareBest forBenchmarksStatusPricingAPI
Compare / head-to-head

Grok 4.20 ReasoningvsGrok Build 0.1

Grok 4.20 Reasoning and Grok Build 0.1 do not yet share a public benchmark, so quality cannot be compared apples-to-apples. Grok Build 0.1 is 1.3x cheaper per token. Grok 4.20 Reasoning has the larger context window (1M tokens).

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
0
no overlap yet
Cheaper per token
Grok Build 0.1
1.3x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
xAI
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
xAI · released 2026-03-09
textvision
Context
1M
Max out
Input /1M
$1.25
Output /1M
$2.5
Cached /1M
$0.2
Scores
5 · 5 core
Grok Build 0.1
xAI · released 2026-05-19
text
Context
256K
Max out
Input /1M
$1
Output /1M
$2
Cached /1M
$0.2
Scores
0 · 0 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkGrok 4.20 ReasoningGrok Build 0.1ΔEdge
Reported by both · 0
No public benchmark is reported for both models yet.
Only Grok 4.20 Reasoning reports · 5
GPQA Diamond89.3% epochnot reported
FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run)17.1% epochnot reported
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)44.9% epochnot reported
OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run)92.2% epochnot reported
SimpleQA Verified30.2% epochnot reported
Only Grok Build 0.1 reports · 0
Grok Build 0.1 reports nothing Grok 4.20 Reasoning does not.
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Grok 4.20 Reasoning minus Grok Build 0.1 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecGrok 4.20 ReasoningGrok Build 0.1Edge
Context window1M tokens256K tokensGrok 4.20 Reasoning
Max output
Input price / 1M$1.25 $1 Grok Build 0.1
Output price / 1M$2.5 $2 Grok Build 0.1
Cached input / 1M$0.2 $0.2 Tie
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$3.75$3Grok Build 0.1
Modalitiestext · visiontextGrok 4.20 Reasoning
Released2026-03-092026-05-19
Cited benchmark scores50
Reliability

xAI status

All providers
More matchups

Grok 4.20 Reasoning vs …

Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Grok 4.20 Reasoning and Grok Build 0.1 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.