ModelsCompareBest forBenchmarksStatusPricingAPI
Compare / head-to-head

Grok 4.20 ReasoningvsSonar Deep Research

Grok 4.20 Reasoning and Sonar Deep Research do not yet share a public benchmark, so quality cannot be compared apples-to-apples. Grok 4.20 Reasoning is 2.7x cheaper per token. Grok 4.20 Reasoning has the larger context window (1M tokens).

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
0
no overlap yet
Cheaper per token
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
2.7x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
— · 100%
xAI · Perplexity
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
xAI · released 2026-03-09
textvision
Context
1M
Max out
Input /1M
$1.25
Output /1M
$2.5
Cached /1M
$0.2
Scores
5 · 5 core
Sonar Deep Research
Perplexity · released 2025-02-14
text
Context
128K
Max out
Input /1M
$2
Output /1M
$8
Cached /1M
Scores
6 · 0 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkGrok 4.20 ReasoningSonar Deep ResearchΔEdge
Reported by both · 0
No public benchmark is reported for both models yet.
Only Grok 4.20 Reasoning reports · 5
GPQA Diamond89.3% epochnot reported
FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run)17.1% epochnot reported
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)44.9% epochnot reported
OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run)92.2% epochnot reported
SimpleQA Verified30.2% epochnot reported
Only Sonar Deep Research reports · 6
DRACO Breadth & Depth (Opus 4.6 base)not reported73.1%
DRACO Citation Quality (Opus 4.6 base)not reported64.6%
DRACO Factual Accuracy (Opus 4.6 base)not reported67.9%
DRACO Normalized Score (Opus 4.6 base)not reported70.5%
DRACO Pass Rate (Opus 4.6 base)not reported72.8%
DRACO Presentation Quality (Opus 4.6 base)not reported90.3%
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Grok 4.20 Reasoning minus Sonar Deep Research in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecGrok 4.20 ReasoningSonar Deep ResearchEdge
Context window1M tokens128K tokensGrok 4.20 Reasoning
Max output
Input price / 1M$1.25 $2 Grok 4.20 Reasoning
Output price / 1M$2.5 $8 Grok 4.20 Reasoning
Cached input / 1M$0.2
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$3.75$10Grok 4.20 Reasoning
Modalitiestext · visiontextGrok 4.20 Reasoning
Released2026-03-092025-02-14
Cited benchmark scores56
Reliability

Provider status

All providers
More matchups

Grok 4.20 Reasoning vs …

Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Grok 4.20 Reasoning and Sonar Deep Research on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.