Compare / head-to-head
Claude Opus 4.6vsGemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
Claude Opus 4.6 leads 5 of 5 shared benchmarks. Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is 17.1x cheaper per token. Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
5 – 0
Claude Opus 4.6 leads
Cheaper per token
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
17.1x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · 100%
Anthropic · Google
Claude Opus 4.6
Anthropic · released 2026-02-05
textvision
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
Google · released 2026-03-03
textvisionaudio
Quality
Benchmark matrix
5 shared · 13 only Claude Opus 4.6 · 4 only Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite| Benchmark | Claude Opus 4.6 | Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 5 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 91.3% ↗ | 86.9% ↗ | +4.4 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 66% ↗epoch | 27.7% ↗epoch | +38.3 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| MMMLU | 91.1% ↗ | 88.9% ↗ | +2.2 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 94.4% ↗epoch | 80% ↗epoch | +14.4 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| SimpleQA Verified | 47% ↗epoch | 43.3% ↗ | +3.7 pt | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| Only Claude Opus 4.6 reports · 13 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 80.8% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2026 | 96.7% ↗matharena | not reported | — | — |
| LMArena Elo | 1497.5 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-2 (Verified) | 68.8% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 26.8% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| MCP Atlas | 59.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (no tools) | 73.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (with tools) | 77.3% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| OSWorld-Verified | 72.7% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 78.7% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| Tau2-bench Retail | 91.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Tau2-bench Telecom | 99.3% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench 2.0 | 65.4% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite reports · 4 | ||||
| Humanity's Last Exam (no tools) | not reported | 16% ↗ | — | — |
| LiveCodeBench | not reported | 72% ↗ | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro | not reported | 76.8% ↗ | — | — |
| MRCR v2 (128k average) | not reported | 60.1% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Claude Opus 4.6 minus Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Claude Opus 4.6 | Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1M tokens | 1.0M tokens | Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite |
| Max output | 128K tokens | 66K tokens | Claude Opus 4.6 |
| Input price / 1M | $5 ↗ | $0.25 ↗ | Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite |
| Output price / 1M | $25 ↗ | $1.5 ↗ | Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.5 ↗ | $0.025 ↗ | Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $30 | $1.75 | Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision · audio | Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite |
| Released | 2026-02-05 | 2026-03-03 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 19 | 10 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Claude Opus 4.6 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Claude Opus 4.6 and Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.