ModelsCompareBest forBenchmarksStatusPricingAPI
Compare / head-to-head

Claude Opus 4.8vsGPT-5.5 Pro

GPT-5.5 Pro leads 3 of 5 shared benchmarks. Claude Opus 4.8 is 7x cheaper per token. GPT-5.5 Pro has the larger context window (1.1M tokens).

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
2 – 3
GPT-5.5 Pro leads
Cheaper per token
Claude Opus 4.8
7x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-5.5 Pro
1.1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · 94.2446%
Anthropic · OpenAI
Claude Opus 4.8
Anthropic · released 2026-05-28
textvision
Context
1M
Max out
128K
Input /1M
$5
Output /1M
$25
Cached /1M
$0.5
Scores
17 · 13 core
GPT-5.5 Pro
OpenAI · released 2026-04-23
textvision
Context
1.1M
Max out
128K
Input /1M
$30
Output /1M
$180
Cached /1M
Scores
8 · 6 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkClaude Opus 4.8GPT-5.5 ProΔEdge
Reported by both · 5
Humanity's Last Exam (no tools)49.8% 43.1% +6.7 ptClaude Opus 4.8
BrowseComp84.3% 90.1% -5.8 ptGPT-5.5 Pro
FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run)56.1% epoch78% epoch-21.9 ptGPT-5.5 Pro
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)80% epoch87.7% epoch-7.7 ptGPT-5.5 Pro
Humanity's Last Exam (with tools)57.9% 57.2% +0.7 ptClaude Opus 4.8
Only Claude Opus 4.8 reports · 11
SWE-bench Verified88.6% not reported
GPQA Diamond93.6% not reported
AIME 2026100% matharenanot reported
LMArena Elo1452.7 not reported
OSWorld-Verified83.4% not reported
OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run)98.3% epochnot reported
SimpleQA Verified53% epochnot reported
SWE-bench Multilingual84.4% not reported
SWE-bench Multimodal38.4% not reported
SWE-Bench Pro69.2% not reported
Terminal-Bench 2.174.6% not reported
Only GPT-5.5 Pro reports · 3
FrontierMath Tier 1-3not reported52.4%
FrontierMath Tier 4not reported39.6%
GDPval (wins or ties)not reported82.3%
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Claude Opus 4.8 minus GPT-5.5 Pro in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecClaude Opus 4.8GPT-5.5 ProEdge
Context window1M tokens1.1M tokensGPT-5.5 Pro
Max output128K tokens128K tokensTie
Input price / 1M$5 $30 Claude Opus 4.8
Output price / 1M$25 $180 Claude Opus 4.8
Cached input / 1M$0.5
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$30$210Claude Opus 4.8
Modalitiestext · visiontext · visionTie
Released2026-05-282026-04-23
Cited benchmark scores178
Reliability

Provider status

All providers
More matchups

Claude Opus 4.8 vs …

More matchups

GPT-5.5 Pro vs …

Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Claude Opus 4.8 and GPT-5.5 Pro on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.