Compare / head-to-head
Gemini 2.5 ProvsGrok 4.20 Reasoning
Grok 4.20 Reasoning leads 4 of 4 shared benchmarks. Grok 4.20 Reasoning is 3x cheaper per token. Gemini 2.5 Pro has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 4
Grok 4.20 Reasoning leads
Cheaper per token
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
3x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Gemini 2.5 Pro
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · —
Google · xAI
Gemini 2.5 Pro
Google · released 2025-06-17
textvisionaudio
Grok 4.20 Reasoning
xAI · released 2026-03-09
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
4 shared · 8 only Gemini 2.5 Pro · 1 only Grok 4.20 Reasoning| Benchmark | Gemini 2.5 Pro | Grok 4.20 Reasoning | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 4 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 86.4% ↗ | 89.3% ↗epoch | -2.9 pt | Grok 4.20 Reasoning |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 0% ↗epoch | 17.1% ↗epoch | -17.1 pt | Grok 4.20 Reasoning |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 24.6% ↗epoch | 44.9% ↗epoch | -20.3 pt | Grok 4.20 Reasoning |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 84.7% ↗epoch | 92.2% ↗epoch | -7.5 pt | Grok 4.20 Reasoning |
| Only Gemini 2.5 Pro reports · 8 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | 59.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2025 | 88% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Humanity's Last Exam (no tools) | 21.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| LMArena Elo | 1457.8 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Aider Polyglot | 82.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| LiveCodeBench | 74.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMU | 82% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 57.6% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| Only Grok 4.20 Reasoning reports · 1 | ||||
| SimpleQA Verified | not reported | 30.2% ↗epoch | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Gemini 2.5 Pro minus Grok 4.20 Reasoning in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Gemini 2.5 Pro | Grok 4.20 Reasoning | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1.0M tokens | 1M tokens | Gemini 2.5 Pro |
| Max output | 66K tokens | — | — |
| Input price / 1M | $1.25 ↗ | $1.25 ↗ | Tie |
| Output price / 1M | $10 ↗ | $2.5 ↗ | Grok 4.20 Reasoning |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.125 ↗ | $0.2 ↗ | Gemini 2.5 Pro |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $11.25 | $3.75 | Grok 4.20 Reasoning |
| Modalities | text · vision · audio | text · vision | Gemini 2.5 Pro |
| Released | 2025-06-17 | 2026-03-09 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 14 | 5 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Gemini 2.5 Pro vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
Grok 4.20 Reasoning vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Gemini 2.5 Pro and Grok 4.20 Reasoning on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.