Compare / head-to-head
Gemma 4 31BvsGPT-4.1
Gemma 4 31B leads 1 of 1 shared benchmark. GPT-4.1 has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
1 – 0
Gemma 4 31B leads
Cheaper per token
—
list price, input + output
Larger context
GPT-4.1
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100% · 94.2446%
Google · OpenAI
Gemma 4 31B
Google · released 2026-04-02
textvision
- Context
- 256K
- Max out
- —
- Input /1M
- —
- Output /1M
- —
- Cached /1M
- —
- Scores
- 6 · 5 core
Quality
Benchmark matrix
1 shared · 5 only Gemma 4 31B · 8 only GPT-4.1| Benchmark | Gemma 4 31B | GPT-4.1 | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 1 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 84.3% ↗ | 66.3% ↗ | +18 pt | Gemma 4 31B |
| Only Gemma 4 31B reports · 5 | ||||
| MMLU-Pro | 85.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2026 | 89.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Humanity's Last Exam (no tools) | 19.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| LMArena Elo | 1441.7 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| LiveCodeBench v6 | 80% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-4.1 reports · 8 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | not reported | 54.6% ↗ | — | — |
| MMLU | not reported | 90.2% ↗ | — | — |
| AIME 2024 | not reported | 48.1% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 6% ↗epoch | — | — |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 38.3% ↗epoch | — | — |
| SimpleQA Verified | not reported | 31.1% ↗epoch | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 48.5% ↗epoch | — | — |
| Video-MME (long, no subtitles) | not reported | 72% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Gemma 4 31B minus GPT-4.1 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Gemma 4 31B | GPT-4.1 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 256K tokens | 1.0M tokens | GPT-4.1 |
| Max output | — | 33K tokens | — |
| Input price / 1M | — | $2 ↗ | — |
| Output price / 1M | — | $8 ↗ | — |
| Cached input / 1M | — | $0.5 ↗ | — |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | — | $10 | — |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2026-04-02 | 2025-04-14 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 6 | 10 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Gemma 4 31B vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-4.1 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Gemma 4 31B and GPT-4.1 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.