Compare / head-to-head
GPT-4.1 minivso3
o3 leads 4 of 4 shared benchmarks. GPT-4.1 mini is 5x cheaper per token. GPT-4.1 mini has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 4
o3 leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-4.1 mini
5x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-4.1 mini
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.2446%
OpenAI
GPT-4.1 mini
OpenAI · released 2025-04-14
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
4 shared · 2 only GPT-4.1 mini · 3 only o3| Benchmark | GPT-4.1 mini | o3 | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 4 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 65% ↗ | 81.8% ↗epoch | -16.8 pt | o3 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 6.7% ↗epoch | 33.3% ↗epoch | -26.6 pt | o3 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 44.7% ↗epoch | 84.4% ↗epoch | -39.7 pt | o3 |
| SimpleQA Verified | 12.7% ↗epoch | 49.4% ↗epoch | -36.7 pt | o3 |
| Only GPT-4.1 mini reports · 2 | ||||
| MMLU | 87.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2024 | 49.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only o3 reports · 3 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | not reported | 69.1% ↗ | — | — |
| AIME 2025 | not reported | 89.2% ↗matharena ⚠ | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 62.3% ↗epoch | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-4.1 mini minus o3 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | GPT-4.1 mini | o3 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1.0M tokens | 200K tokens | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Max output | 33K tokens | 100K tokens | o3 |
| Input price / 1M | $0.4 ↗ | $2 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Output price / 1M | $1.6 ↗ | $8 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.1 ↗ | $0.5 ↗ | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $2 | $10 | GPT-4.1 mini |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2025-04-14 | 2025-04-16 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 7 | 7 | — |
Reliability
OpenAI status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
GPT-4.1 mini vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
o3 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-4.1 mini and o3 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.