ModelsCompareBest forBenchmarksStatusPricingAPI
Compare / head-to-head

GPT-4.1vsStep 3.5 Flash

Step 3.5 Flash leads 1 of 1 shared benchmark. GPT-4.1 has the larger context window (1.0M tokens).

Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.

Shared benchmarks
0 – 1
Step 3.5 Flash leads
Cheaper per token
list price, input + output
Larger context
GPT-4.1
1.0M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.2446% · —
OpenAI · StepFun
GPT-4.1
OpenAI · released 2025-04-14
textvision
Context
1.0M
Max out
33K
Input /1M
$2
Output /1M
$8
Cached /1M
$0.5
Scores
10 · 8 core
Step 3.5 Flash
StepFun · released 2026-02-12
text
Context
256K
Max out
Input /1M
Output /1M
Cached /1M
Scores
18 · 5 core
Quality

Benchmark matrix

BenchmarkGPT-4.1Step 3.5 FlashΔEdge
Reported by both · 1
SWE-bench Verified54.6% 74.4% -19.8 ptStep 3.5 Flash
Only GPT-4.1 reports · 8
GPQA Diamond66.3% not reported
MMLU90.2% not reported
AIME 202448.1% not reported
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run)6% epochnot reported
OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run)38.3% epochnot reported
SimpleQA Verified31.1% epochnot reported
SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run)48.5% epochnot reported
Video-MME (long, no subtitles)72% not reported
Only Step 3.5 Flash reports · 16
AIME 2025not reported97.3%
AIME 2026not reported96.7% matharena
LMArena Elonot reported1403.7
BrowseCompnot reported51.6%
BrowseComp (with context manager)not reported69%
BrowseComp-ZHnot reported66.9%
BrowseComp-ZH (with context manager)not reported73.7%
GAIA (no file)not reported84.5%
HMMT 2025 (Feb/Nov average)not reported96.2%
IMOAnswerBenchnot reported85.4%
LiveCodeBench v6not reported86.4%
ResearchRubricsnot reported65.3%
Tau2-Benchnot reported88.2%
Terminal-Bench 2.0not reported51%
xbench-DeepSearch 2025.05not reported83.7%
xbench-DeepSearch 2025.10not reported56.3%
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-4.1 minus Step 3.5 Flash in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing

Side by side

SpecGPT-4.1Step 3.5 FlashEdge
Context window1.0M tokens256K tokensGPT-4.1
Max output33K tokens
Input price / 1M$2
Output price / 1M$8
Cached input / 1M$0.5
Input + output / 1M
Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded.
$10
Modalitiestext · visiontextGPT-4.1
Released2025-04-142026-02-12
Cited benchmark scores1018
Reliability

Provider status

All providers
More matchups

Step 3.5 Flash vs …

Built by Respan
Which one wins on your data?

Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-4.1 and Step 3.5 Flash on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.