Compare / head-to-head
GPT-4ovsGPT-5.4 Pro
GPT-5.4 Pro leads 3 of 3 shared benchmarks. GPT-4o is 16.8x cheaper per token. GPT-5.4 Pro has the larger context window (1.1M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 3
GPT-5.4 Pro leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-4o
16.8x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-5.4 Pro
1.1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.2446%
OpenAI
GPT-4o
OpenAI · released 2024-05-13
textvision
GPT-5.4 Pro
OpenAI · released 2026-03-05
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
3 shared · 5 only GPT-4o · 9 only GPT-5.4 Pro| Benchmark | GPT-4o | GPT-5.4 Pro | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 3 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 46% ↗ | 94.4% ↗ | -48.4 pt | GPT-5.4 Pro |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 0.4% ↗epoch | 82.5% ↗epoch | -82.1 pt | GPT-5.4 Pro |
| SimpleQA Verified | 26% ↗epoch | 46.3% ↗epoch | -20.3 pt | GPT-5.4 Pro |
| Only GPT-4o reports · 5 | ||||
| MMLU | 85.7% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2025 | 11.7% ↗matharena | not reported | — | — |
| AIME 2024 | 13.1% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 6.4% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | 31% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-5.4 Pro reports · 9 | ||||
| Humanity's Last Exam (no tools) | not reported | 42.7% ↗ | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-1 (Verified) | not reported | 94.5% ↗ | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-2 (Verified) | not reported | 83.3% ↗ | — | — |
| BrowseComp | not reported | 89.3% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 1-3 | not reported | 50% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 | not reported | 38% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 58.5% ↗epoch | — | — |
| GDPval (wins or ties) | not reported | 82% ↗ | — | — |
| Humanity's Last Exam (with tools) | not reported | 58.7% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-4o minus GPT-5.4 Pro in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | GPT-4o | GPT-5.4 Pro | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 128K tokens | 1.1M tokens | GPT-5.4 Pro |
| Max output | 16K tokens | 128K tokens | GPT-5.4 Pro |
| Input price / 1M | $2.5 ↗ | $30 ↗ | GPT-4o |
| Output price / 1M | $10 ↗ | $180 ↗ | GPT-4o |
| Cached input / 1M | $1.25 ↗ | — | — |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $12.5 | $210 | GPT-4o |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2024-05-13 | 2026-03-05 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 9 | 13 | — |
Reliability
OpenAI status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
GPT-4o vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-5.4 Pro vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-4o and GPT-5.4 Pro on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.