Compare / head-to-head
GPT-5.4 ProvsGPT-5.6 Sol
GPT-5.6 Sol leads 4 of 4 shared benchmarks. GPT-5.6 Sol is 8.8x cheaper per token. Both offer a 1.1M-token context window.
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 4
GPT-5.6 Sol leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-5.6 Sol
8.8x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Tie
both 1.1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
95.1952%
OpenAI
GPT-5.4 Pro
OpenAI · released 2026-03-05
textvision
GPT-5.6 Sol
OpenAI · released 2026-07-09
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
4 shared · 8 only GPT-5.4 Pro · 3 only GPT-5.6 Sol| Benchmark | GPT-5.4 Pro | GPT-5.6 Sol | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 4 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 94.4% ↗ | 94.6% ↗ | -0.2 pt | GPT-5.6 Sol |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 58.5% ↗epoch | 82.9% ↗epoch | -24.4 pt | GPT-5.6 Sol |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 82.5% ↗epoch | 89.1% ↗epoch | -6.6 pt | GPT-5.6 Sol |
| SimpleQA Verified | 46.3% ↗epoch | 69.7% ↗epoch | -23.4 pt | GPT-5.6 Sol |
| Only GPT-5.4 Pro reports · 8 | ||||
| Humanity's Last Exam (no tools) | 42.7% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-1 (Verified) | 94.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-2 (Verified) | 83.3% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| BrowseComp | 89.3% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 1-3 | 50% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 | 38% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| GDPval (wins or ties) | 82% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Humanity's Last Exam (with tools) | 58.7% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-5.6 Sol reports · 3 | ||||
| DeepSWE v1.1 | not reported | 72.7% ↗ | — | — |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 100% ↗epoch | — | — |
| SWE-Bench Pro | not reported | 64.6% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-5.4 Pro minus GPT-5.6 Sol in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | GPT-5.4 Pro | GPT-5.6 Sol | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1.1M tokens | 1.1M tokens | Tie |
| Max output | 128K tokens | 128K tokens | Tie |
| Input price / 1M | $30 ↗ | $4 ↗ | GPT-5.6 Sol |
| Output price / 1M | $180 ↗ | $20 ↗ | GPT-5.6 Sol |
| Cached input / 1M | — | $0.4 ↗ | — |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $210 | $24 | GPT-5.6 Sol |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2026-03-05 | 2026-07-09 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 13 | 8 | — |
Reliability
OpenAI status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
GPT-5.4 Pro vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-5.6 Sol vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-5.4 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.