Compare / head-to-head
GPT-5.5vsGPT-5 Pro
GPT-5.5 leads 3 of 3 shared benchmarks. GPT-5.5 is 3.9x cheaper per token. GPT-5.5 has the larger context window (1M tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
3 – 0
GPT-5.5 leads
Cheaper per token
GPT-5.5
3.9x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
GPT-5.5
1M tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.2446%
OpenAI
GPT-5.5
OpenAI · released 2026-04-23
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
3 shared · 18 only GPT-5.5 · 0 only GPT-5 Pro| Benchmark | GPT-5.5 | GPT-5 Pro | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 3 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 90.7% ↗epoch | 88.4% ↗ | +2.3 pt | GPT-5.5 |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 72.5% ↗epoch | 19.5% ↗epoch | +53 pt | GPT-5.5 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 85.3% ↗epoch | 55.8% ↗epoch | +29.5 pt | GPT-5.5 |
| Only GPT-5.5 reports · 18 | ||||
| AIME 2026 | 100% ↗matharena ⚠ | not reported | — | — |
| LMArena Elo | 1465.6 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-1 (Verified) | 95% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| ARC-AGI-2 (Verified) | 85% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| BrowseComp | 84.4% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 1-3 | 51.7% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 | 35.4% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| GDPval (wins or ties) | 84.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MCP Atlas | 75.3% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (no tools) | 81.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMMU-Pro (with tools) | 83.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| OSWorld-Verified | 78.7% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 84.4% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| SimpleQA Verified | 63% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| SWE-Bench Pro | 58.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Tau2-bench Telecom | 98% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench 2.0 | 82.7% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Toolathlon | 55.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only GPT-5 Pro reports · 0 | ||||
| GPT-5 Pro reports nothing GPT-5.5 does not. | ||||
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-5.5 minus GPT-5 Pro in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | GPT-5.5 | GPT-5 Pro | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 1M tokens | 400K tokens | GPT-5.5 |
| Max output | 128K tokens | 272K tokens | GPT-5 Pro |
| Input price / 1M | $5 ↗ | $15 ↗ | GPT-5.5 |
| Output price / 1M | $30 ↗ | $120 ↗ | GPT-5.5 |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.5 ↗ | — | — |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $35 | $135 | GPT-5.5 |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2026-04-23 | 2025-10-06 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 21 | 3 | — |
Reliability
OpenAI status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
GPT-5.5 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
GPT-5 Pro vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-5.5 and GPT-5 Pro on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.