Compare / head-to-head
GPT-5 ProvsGrok 4.6
Grok 4.6 leads 3 of 3 shared benchmarks. Grok 4.6 is 16.9x cheaper per token. Grok 4.6 has the larger context window (500K tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0 – 3
Grok 4.6 leads
Cheaper per token
Grok 4.6
16.9x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Grok 4.6
500K tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
94.2446% · —
OpenAI · xAI
GPT-5 Pro
OpenAI · released 2025-10-06
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
3 shared · 0 only GPT-5 Pro · 12 only Grok 4.6| Benchmark | GPT-5 Pro | Grok 4.6 | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 3 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 88.4% ↗ | 94% ↗epoch | -5.6 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 19.5% ↗epoch | 31.7% ↗epoch | -12.2 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 55.8% ↗epoch | 66% ↗epoch | -10.2 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| Only GPT-5 Pro reports · 0 | ||||
| GPT-5 Pro reports nothing Grok 4.6 does not. | ||||
| Only Grok 4.6 reports · 12 | ||||
| AA-Briefcase | not reported | 1577 ↗ | — | — |
| APEX-Agents | not reported | 57.5% ↗ | — | — |
| APEX-SWE | not reported | 56.4% ↗ | — | — |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index | not reported | 61 ↗ | — | — |
| CursorBench 3.2 | not reported | 69.9% ↗ | — | — |
| DeepSWE v1.1 | not reported | 65.9% ↗ | — | — |
| FrontierCode v1.1 (Extended) | not reported | 61.3% ↗ | — | — |
| GDPVal-AA v2 | not reported | 1753 ↗ | — | — |
| Harvey LAB (Vals) | not reported | 15.8% ↗ | — | — |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 99.2% ↗epoch | — | — |
| SimpleQA Verified | not reported | 49.3% ↗epoch | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench 3.0 | not reported | 26% ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is GPT-5 Pro minus Grok 4.6 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | GPT-5 Pro | Grok 4.6 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 400K tokens | 500K tokens | Grok 4.6 |
| Max output | 272K tokens | — | — |
| Input price / 1M | $15 ↗ | $2 ↗ | Grok 4.6 |
| Output price / 1M | $120 ↗ | $6 ↗ | Grok 4.6 |
| Cached input / 1M | — | $0.5 ↗ | — |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $135 | $8 | Grok 4.6 |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2025-10-06 | 2026-08-12 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 3 | 15 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
GPT-5 Pro vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
Grok 4.6 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run GPT-5 Pro and Grok 4.6 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.