Compare / head-to-head
Grok 4.6vso3
Grok 4.6 leads 3 of 4 shared benchmarks. Grok 4.6 is 1.3x cheaper per token. Grok 4.6 has the larger context window (500K tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
3 – 1
Grok 4.6 leads
Cheaper per token
Grok 4.6
1.3x cheaper, input + output
Larger context
Grok 4.6
500K tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
— · 95.1807%
xAI · OpenAI
Grok 4.6
xAI · released 2026-08-12
textvision
Quality
Benchmark matrix
4 shared · 11 only Grok 4.6 · 3 only o3| Benchmark | Grok 4.6 | o3 | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 4 | ||||
| GPQA Diamond | 94% ↗epoch | 81.8% ↗epoch | +12.2 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 66% ↗epoch | 33.3% ↗epoch | +32.7 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| OTIS Mock AIME 2024-2025 (Epoch AI run) | 99.2% ↗epoch | 84.4% ↗epoch | +14.8 pt | Grok 4.6 |
| SimpleQA Verified | 49.3% ↗epoch | 49.4% ↗epoch | -0.1 pt | o3 |
| Only Grok 4.6 reports · 11 | ||||
| AA-Briefcase | 1577 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| APEX-Agents | 57.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| APEX-SWE | 56.4% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index | 61 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| CursorBench 3.2 | 69.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| DeepSWE v1.1 | 65.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| FrontierCode v1.1 (Extended) | 61.3% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 (Epoch AI run) | 31.7% ↗epoch | not reported | — | — |
| GDPVal-AA v2 | 1753 ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Harvey LAB (Vals) | 15.8% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Terminal-Bench 3.0 | 26% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only o3 reports · 3 | ||||
| SWE-bench Verified | not reported | 69.1% ↗ | — | — |
| AIME 2025 | not reported | 89.2% ↗matharena ⚠ | — | — |
| SWE-bench Verified (Epoch AI run) | not reported | 62.3% ↗epoch | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Grok 4.6 minus o3 in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Grok 4.6 | o3 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 500K tokens | 200K tokens | Grok 4.6 |
| Max output | — | 100K tokens | — |
| Input price / 1M | $2 ↗ | $2 ↗ | Tie |
| Output price / 1M | $6 ↗ | $8 ↗ | Grok 4.6 |
| Cached input / 1M | $0.5 ↗ | $0.5 ↗ | Tie |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $8 | $10 | Grok 4.6 |
| Modalities | text · vision | text · vision | Tie |
| Released | 2026-08-12 | 2025-04-16 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 15 | 7 | — |
Reliability
Provider status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Grok 4.6 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
o3 vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Grok 4.6 and o3 on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.