Compare / head-to-head
Command AvsCommand R+
Command A and Command R+ do not yet share a public benchmark, so quality cannot be compared apples-to-apples. Both list the same combined token price. Command A has the larger context window (256K tokens).
Benchmarks from cited public sources; pricing from official pages; status from official provider feeds.
Shared benchmarks
0
no overlap yet
Cheaper per token
Tie
list price, input + output
Larger context
Command A
256K tokens
Provider uptime (30d)
100%
Cohere
Command A
Cohere · released 2025-03-13
text
Command R+
Cohere · released 2024-08-30
text
Quality
Benchmark matrix
0 shared · 7 only Command A · 1 only Command R+| Benchmark | Command A | Command R+ | Δ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reported by both · 0 | ||||
| No public benchmark is reported for both models yet. | ||||
| Only Command A reports · 7 | ||||
| MMLU | 85.5% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MMLU-Pro | 69.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| BFCL Overall | 63.8% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| GPQA | 50.8% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| IFEval | 90.9% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| MBPP+ | 86.2% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| RepoQA | 92.6% ↗ | not reported | — | — |
| Only Command R+ reports · 1 | ||||
| LMArena Elo | not reported | 1203.7 ↗ | — | — |
Scores tagged "epoch" or "matharena" are independent runs, used only where the lab has not published its own; ⚠ marks rows MathArena flags as released after the competition. Higher is better on every row. Δ is Command A minus Command R+ in the benchmark's own unit. "Not reported" means the lab has not published that figure; it is not a zero. ↗ opens the source.
Specs & pricing
Side by side
Official pricing pages and model cards| Spec | Command A | Command R+ | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Context window | 256K tokens | 128K tokens | Command A |
| Max output | 8K tokens | 4K tokens | Command A |
| Input price / 1M | $2.5 ↗ | $2.5 ↗ | Tie |
| Output price / 1M | $10 ↗ | $10 ↗ | Tie |
| Cached input / 1M | — | — | — |
| Input + output / 1M Lower is cheaper. List prices; batch, tool and regional fees excluded. | $12.5 | $12.5 | Tie |
| Modalities | text | text | Tie |
| Released | 2025-03-13 | 2024-08-30 | — |
| Cited benchmark scores | 7 | 1 | — |
Reliability
Cohere status
Last 60 days · refreshed daily on this page · live on /statusMore matchups
Command A vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksMore matchups
Command R+ vs …
Models sharing the most benchmarksBuilt by Respan
Which one wins on your data?
Public benchmarks are a starting point. Run Command A and Command R+ on your own prompts with Respan evals, or route to either through one gateway key with automatic failover.